Confessions of a slow blogger

It’s true I procrastinate and I haven’t set up a regular blogging schedule.

But I have another reason for my slow blogging.

I stupidly tried to upgrade my Linux Ubuntu laptop and I now have a mess on my hands. 

What I have learned:

  • If you use Linux, partition the drive and do a clean install of a new distro. Whatever you do, do not hit the graphical upgrade button even if your computer prompts you to do so. 
  • In Windows you can click on an Upgrade button and chances are everything goes smoothly. Do this in Linux and you will spend hours trying to find the bug in the code that’s causing the black screen or the laptop that never turns off etc.
  • If your laptop is from Dell or a manufacturer that configured it to use Windows you have a much chance of problems moving from one Linux distro to another. And there are new distros every six months.
  • I love the idea of Linux. I love open source software and operating systems that work bloat-free and take very little space on a drive. I like the idea of keeping older computers working longer and making it more affordable to have access to computers.
  • But as a someone who is interested in tech but not a true techie, Linux is a nightmare! I have spent hours on forums trying figure if it’s the graphics card or the Bios or what is behind this upgrade problem. I am going to have to take the computer in to someone who knows more about Linux. I don’t have the time to figure this out. I wish it were easier.

 

Confessions of a slow blogger

Leave a Reply

