My latest article for Urban Expressions

…is about Mike Rud,a very talented jazz guitarist, songwriter, arranger and sometime vocalist. Mike’s latest CD, Notes on Montréal, has songs about the characters and locales you find in books and plays set in Montreal. There’s Florentine from Gabrielle Roy’s the Tin Flute, Barney from Mordecai Richler’s Barney’s Version, Baby from Heather O’Neill’s Lullabies for Little Criminals  and even the womanizing main character in Dany Laferrière’s How to Make Love to a Negro Without Getting Tired (there are more, those are just a few of the songs). There’s also a song about Montreal diners called Ode to Dusty’s and another about alleyways. The singer on the album is jazz vocalist Sienna Dahlen (I’m still getting used to her voice because I heard Mike sing them first). It’s a lovely CD.

And full disclosure: Mike is my brother-in-law but he and my sister recently separated. I think he deserves recognition. I would believe this even if I hadn’t met him through my sister.

You’ll find the article here

My latest article for Urban Expressions

Leave a Reply

