My favourite cookbook these days

goodandcheap

I’ve blogged about being sick. A few months ago I finally found a family doctor and I’ve been diagnosed with Irritable Bowel Syndrome.

For over a year now eating has been a game of sorts. I feel I’m becoming Marian McAlpin, the main character in Margaret Atwood’s novel, The Edible Woman. I’m never entirely sure what my body will accept. Being sick affects my productivity. I don’t always have a lot of energy. Just before the Christmas holidays I took a short-term gig filing for a medical clinic to pay the bills but finances have definitely been tight.

I love Leanne Brown’s Good and Cheap; Eat Well on $4/day.  Seeing tasty recipes that you can make on a budget appeals to the frugalista in me. And I’m especially grateful to find a cookbook with many recipes that soothe my crazy digestive system.

Leanne Brown is a Canadian ex-pat (originally from Edmonton) living in New York City and her cookbook impresses me on many levels. It’s all about helping people living on U.S. food stamps survive, thrive even, living on a food budget of four dollars a day. Some of the recipes I was already familiar with – for instance, carmelized bananas, or quesadillas, but the cookbook is well designed and creative and Brown infuses her book with energy and enthusiasm.

I’m a huge fan of Amy Dacyczyn’s Tightwad Gazette newsletter and books. Brown’s approach reminds me of Dacyczyn – besides helping you save money, she taps into your creativity too.

Good and Cheap is available online as a PDF, free of charge. I urge you to check it out.

After her PDF went viral, Brown launched a Kickstarter campaign to fund a print run and the cookbook made the New York Times bestseller list. I have the printed version – it’s gorgeous. Brown’s website says there’s an even better second edition available in bookstores (Note, Jan. 28, 2016: I just noticed my copy is a second edition. The first edition was the self-published Kickstarter edition. The copy in stores now is a second edition with 30 added recipes). If you buy one, for each cookbook purchased Brown promises to donate a copy to someone in need.

My favourite cookbook these days

4 thoughts on “My favourite cookbook these days

  1. Paula Jardine says:

    Check out the British food blogger Jack Monroe as well Stephanie. When you can afford it a supplement called saccharomyces boulardii which is a probiotic yeast originally found on mangosteen fruit can be helpful. It was used in the Far East to treat dysentery.

Leave a Reply

