Some blogging inspiration

30-Day Writing Challenge – Day 7

I haven’t been the most consistent of bloggers. I started this blog when I wrote for OpenFile Montreal and we were asked to have a blog and a Twitter account to promote articles. When I stopped writing for OpenFile I kept this blog. I wrote for Urban Expressions and when that died, continued writing for community papers (I still do today).

Since leaving Montreal and NDG I’ve been losing connections to my old haunts and because I’m not writing about NDG much, I’m losing readers. I’ve felt sad about this loss and the changes I’ve experienced lately.  I don’t live in a walkable part of the world and I don’t know this new neighbourhood as well as NDG. I’ve felt quite depressed and I’ve been tempted to kill this blog because I feel I’ve lost my bearings and I have no idea what to write about sometimes.

Yesterday I watched a 2014 talk on YouTube by one of my favourite bloggers, Natalie Lue, who’s based in the U.K. and is known for a blog called Baggage Reclaim.

While her blog offers people advice on self-esteem and relationships, what amazes me about Natalie Lue is her track record. She’s been blogging for over 10 years and manages to keep at it. She’s even turned it into a successful business.

I don’t expect to turn this into a business but who knows? Maybe I’ll find a focus for this blog and blogging will come easier and make more sense to me. The takeaway I got from Natalie Lue’s talk is whatever I write, I need to be authentic.

Here’s the talk, in case you too are looking for inspiration.

 

 

Some blogging inspiration

Leave a Reply

