Pop songs about exes

I’ve been home a lot lately. While I’m working on websites, I like to listen to YouTube videos and check out new music.

I enjoy all sorts of music. Some of it is very pop and probably not music my friends and family would ever like. I am not the intended demographic, but who cares?

I’ve noticed lately that three of the videos I listen to have something in common. The musical artists and songwriters are all in their 20s. And they are singing about exes.

The first video that comes to mind is Olivia Rodrigo’s new song, bad idea right?

The video is hilarious. She’s with her friends at a party, getting ”all fucked up.” But a text from her ex leads her to leave the party, head out in the rain, risk ruining her cashmere sweater, hitchhike on the back of a pickup truck, and then take a bus, only to have someone dump a red slush drink all over her.

She goes to incredible lengths to get to her ex-boyfriend’s place, even though their relationship is long over. Why does she head his way after he suddenly texts after several months of silence? It sounds like the latest text is an invitation to a booty call.

The song’s lyrics explain her predicament.

And you're calling my phone and you're all alone
And I'm sensing some undertone.
And I'm right here with all my friends
But you're sending me your new address
And I know we're done, I know we're through
But, God, when I look at you

[Refrain]
My brain goes "Ah."
Can't hear my thoughts (I cannot hear my thoughts.)
Like blah-blah-blah (blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah)
Should probably not
I should probably probably not
I should probably probably not

[Pre-Chorus]
Seeing you tonight
It's a bad idea, right?
Seeing you tonight
It's a bad idea, right?
Seeing you tonight
It's a bad idea, right?
Seeing you tonight
Fuck it, it's fine

The lie?

Yes, I know that he’s my ex, but can’t two people reconnect? I only see him as a friend. The biggest lie I ever said. I just tripped and fell into his bed.”

Source: Genius

The next video I play a lot is Blame Brett by the Toronto band The Beaches.

Unlike Olivia Rodrigo, who knows it’s a bad idea to have sex with an ex but does it anyway, Jordan Miller of The Beaches sings about being so heartbroken by her ex, Brett, she wants revenge. After all, it’s his fault she’s decided to become an “asshole.”

Based on the lyrics, the next guy has zero chance of winning her heart.

Done being the sad girl
I'm done dating rockstars
From now on only actors
Tall boys in the Raptors
I'll become an asshole
Disguised as a bad girl
In my button-up shirt
A natural disaster

Hey
You could be my baby, baby, baby
You could be my baby boy, dear lady
You could be my baby, baby, maybe
Oh oh

(Chorus)
I'm sorry in advance
I'm only gonna treat you bad
I'm probably gonna let you down
I'm probably gonna sleep around
So sorry in advance
Before you take off your pants
I wouldn't let me near your friends
I wouldn't let me near your dad
But don't blame me, blame Brett
Blame my ex, blame my ex, blame my ex
Don't blame me, blame Brett
Blame my ex, blame my ex, blame my ex

Source: Musixmatch

G Flip’s song, The Worst Person Alive has a different take on an ex. G Flip, an Australian who relocated to Los Angeles, is a non-binary person, so I’m using they, their and them pronouns. Their song is mournful, full of sadness and regret over the ending of relationship.

The vocals and drumming are incredible and perfectly capture the what-if feelings many of us have after a valued relationship ends. They are shocked that their ex has forgotten the good times and is badmouthing them.

Go ahead, babe, talk about me
Tell everyone your own fucked up story
I don't think I know you now
From what I've heard, you like to tear me down
And I want you to be happy
'Cause that's what you deserve
If you want me to be unhappy
Well, that just fucking hurts

(Chorus)
You used to call me, "Baby, come over"
Now I'm the worst person alive
Those nights we couldn't get any closer
Now when I see you out, you don't even say hi
Goddamn, it rips me up inside
Last year I was the love of your life
Now I'm the worst person alive

Source:Genius

Based on what I’ve read about the real lives of these artists, their current lives probably don’t currently reflect the stories in these songs and the stories in the songs could be entirely fictitious. G Flip, for instance, is happily married to Chrishell Stause, an American actress and real estate agent known for her role on the Netflix reality TV show Selling Sunset.

There’s no question bad times can help artists make great art. If any part of the songs is true, I do wish these artists better experiences, especially with their exes.

Leave a comment