Family circus

Family circus

My partner and I have elderly parents.

Every day is an adventure.

At my parents’ house the fridge is on the fritz.

My sisters and I have offered my mom help.

I offered to loan a mini fridge from our place, my youngest sister offered to buy a new fridge.

But she refuses our assistance. The fridge works after all.

Milk is spoiling but she doesn’t drink much dairy.

She says she’ll go to the mall and have a look at the fridges on sale.

But she doesn’t.

My partner’s dad needs assistance. He puzzles over why the caregivers aren’t doing much or are looking at their phones when they’re spending time with him.

He’s at high risk of falling and making meals is challenging so someone needs to be there.

I think the biggest challenge we’re facing is we want to (have to) respect our parents and their wishes. At this time they are what the Quebec government would call “apte”, able to make their own decisions.

We don’t want to impose. But we worry all the time.

It’s a balancing act.

Leave a comment